Link to Content Area

Ocean Affairs Council

::: Content Area
Q & A
Marine industry can be divided into three main categories.
1.Primary industrial sector
Extracts raw materials (which are natural products) from the sea, such as fisheries (including fishing and mariculture), mining, seaweed farming, etc.
2.Secondary industrial sector
Converts the raw materials provided by primary industry into commodities and products, such as shipbuilding, engineering, sea salt production, petroleum exploitation, ocean energy utilization, etc.
3.Tertiary industrial sector
This sector provides services to the general population and to businesses, such as marine transportation, marine recreation, marine biotechnology, etc.
Unit:Department of Marine Resources

There are many kind of marine resources that include both living and non-living resources. Some of them are given below.

  • 1. Living resources
    Marine living resources are living organisms that can be found in seas and oceans, such as fish, shellfish, seaweed, etc.
  • 2. Non-living resources
    • (1)Mineral resources: The oceans hold an enormous reservoirs of minerals, such as manganese nodule, petroleum, natural gas, etc.
    • (2)Ocean energy: The oceans represent a vast and largely untapped source of energy in the form of ocean currents, tides, waves, wind, etc.
    • (3)Seawater: Seawater can be used to produce fresh water and salt. Besides, deep sea water can also be a good water source.
Unit:Department of Marine Resources
  • 1. According to Article 36 of The Commercial Port Law, raising and catching marine life within a commercial port area are prohibited.
    The commercial port authority and related registered associations may coordinate to set measures and to delimit a fishery area for the public without affecting port operations, safety and causing pollution.
  • 2. Additionally, Article 5 of the same law, the authority is entitled to establish a port police force for the purpose of maintaining public order and of handling violations within  the port. Therefore, if the cases about fishing within a commercial port area are found or reported, the duty officers of C.G.A will report to the port police.
Unit:Department of Maritime Security

Taiwan has participated in 12 ocean-related international organizations, 8 of which are official. The characteristics among those organizations are mainly in fisheries management, while marine conservation and maritime security organizations are relatively scarce. Therefore, OAC will actively promote the participation of ocean-related international organizations in accordance with OAC businesses situations.

PS. (1) Official Name: Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC), Southern Blackbird Conservation Committee (CCSBT) Extension Committee (EC), International Satellite-Assisted Search and Rescue Organization (COSPAS-SARSAT), American Tropical Salmon Committee (IATTC), North International Scientific Committee (ISC), Pacific Ocean Fisheries Commission (NPFC), South Pacific Regional Fisheries Management Organization (SPRFMO) and Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC); (2) Unofficial Name: Global Biodiversity The Information Technology Agency (GBIF), the International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Resources (ICCAT), the Pacific Islands Forum (PIF) and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the Fisheries Commission (FC).

Unit:Department of International Development

International law is usually formed by international practices or international recognition. Therefore, if Taiwan wants to be in line with international standards or not to be excluded from the international community, the content of international laws should be incorporated into the legal system of our country through specific legalizing process.

Unit:Department of International Development
Font Size:
Ocean Affairs Council